Doctor of Medical Science (Honoris Causa)


An honorary degree is the highest honour conferred by the University. It is awarded without the need for completion of the usual requirements of the degree – honoris causa is 'for the sake of the honour' in Latin.

The Doctor of Medical Science (Honoris Causa) is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of Medical Science and to society.


Dr Gabriele Medley AM

Professor Li Wu


Professor James Bishop AO

Emeritus Professor Henry G Burger AO

Professor Kate Leslie AO

Professor Kathryn North AM


Professor Leonard (Len) Charles Harrison

Professor Helen E Herrman

Professor Donald James Bourne St John AM

Professor Christine Kilpatrick

Professor Richard George Pestell


Professor Julie Cliff AO

Dr (Olga) Margaret Garson AO

Professor S Yati Soenarto

Dr John Wilcox Stocker AO


Professor Emeritus Ian Gust AO

Professor Marion Peters

The Reverend Dr Ruth Redpath AO

Professor Emeritus Bruce Singh AM

Professor Dato' Dr Khalid Yusoff


Professor Emeritus Norman Beischer AO

Professor John Funder AO

Professor Christina Mitchell

Associate Professor Jill Sewell

Professor Ivo Vellar


Professor Ian Philip Smith Anderson

Professor Lorraine Dennerstein AO

Professor Sir Marc Feldmann

Dr Joanna Flynn AM

Mr James Stuart Guest AM OBE VRD

Dr Sandra Michelle Hacker AO

Dr Margaret Mary Henderson OBE

Professor John Mathews

Dr Hugh David Niall

Professor Emeritus Richard Alan Smallwood AO