Melbourne School of Population and Global Health

Thank you for accepting a student from the School of Population and Global Health for a Professional Practice Unit (PPU). Our academic centres, institutes and units make vital contributions to teaching, research and engagement across a number of important population and global health disciplines.

Important dates

Placement period For placements beginning in Semester 1, 2022 For placements beginning in Semester 2, 2022
Professional Placement Agreement (PPU) signed & returned by: Friday 11 February Friday 8 July
Placement start date: Monday 21 February (negotiable) Monday 25 July (negotiable)
Completion of placement For placements finishing in Semester 1, 2022 For placements finishing in Semester 2, 2022
Placement end date: No later than Friday 20 May No later than Friday 15 October
Oral Presentation due: In week of 16 May (day to be advised) In week of 10 October (day to be advised)
Main Report due: Wednesday 8 June Wednesday 2 November
Workplace Supervisor Report due: Friday 17 June Friday 11 November

Estimated time commitment for supervisors

Task Estimated hours Comments
Meetings 10+
  • Initial meeting at the start of the placement
  • At least one meeting with student per 5 days
  • More intensive supervision is expected to be
    required in the first few weeks
  • A mid-placement performance review
  • End of placement reflection
Reading time 4-5
  • To give feedback on students work, including their final report
Workplace supervisor report 1
  • Due at the end of placement
Total Approx. 15 hours

Different levels are required dependent on the student, project type and length.

Back

Next


Need Help?

Sue Durham
Professional Practice Coordinator
e: sue.durham@unimelb.edu.au
Dawn Choo
Teaching Specialist and Industry Partnerships
e: dawn.choo@unimelb.edu.au