Isaac Schweitzer Travelling Fellowship

Study level
Graduate Research, Other
Enrolment status
Study Area
Fund source
Perpetual Trust (UOM)
Fund basis

UTR 7.320


Donor: In 2013, the University launched an appeal supported by Healthscope Melbourne Clinic, to establish a fund in memory of Professor Isaac Schweitzer who passed away in 2013.  Professor Schweitzer was an outstanding clinician, researcher, and teacher, who made an incredible contribution to the University of Melbourne’s Department of Psychiatry, and from 2000, to the Melbourne Clinic as the inaugural Healthscope Chair. His passion for traveling and working overseas and international collaboration enabled new and innovative approaches for the treatment of mental health problems.

The establishment of the Isaac Schweitzer Travelling Fellowship creates a lasting legacy by offering an early career researcher or psychiatrist the same opportunity to broaden their experience and knowledge overseas. Recipients of this fellowship will build upon Professor Schweitzer’s innate curiosity, open-mindedness and interest in new ideas through their research and interactions with patients for a long time to come.

The Fellowship is open to an early career researcher or psychiatrist in the Department of Psychiatry, providing the opportunity to travel overseas to undergo training or professional development to further their career in the field of psychiatry.


For 2020:  $5000

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


Applicants must be a psychiatrist or an early career researcher working in the field of Psychiatry.


  • A capacity to communicate complex ideas and theory, undertake research and deliver mental health services at a level equal to that required to gain entry into a postgraduate academic program at The University of Melbourne
  • A keen interest in broadening clinical and research experience and knowledge in psychiatry at an external University, hospital, research or teaching institution overseas
  • Potential to make a significant contribution to psychiatric research and approaches upon their return to Australia


Please complete the application form and attach supporting documentation to Ms Jan Mariani, Department of Psychiatry at by the closing date.


Please  direct all enquiries to Jan Mariani

More information

Travel must be undertaken in the year that the Fellowship is awarded.

The Fellowship recipient will be required to make a presentation and submit a written report on the outcomes of their Fellowship.


2020 Dr Sarah Farrand
2018 Dr Myles Gutkin
2017 Not awarded
2016 Dr Samantha Loi

2015 Dr Samuel Lieblich

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Medical School

Department / Centre