The ceremony for the 2019 Georgina Sweet Awards for Women in Quantitative Biomedical Science will be held on Monday 14th October from 2PM at Bio21 Institute.

Please RSVP by 04/10/19 to

Or Eventbrite Registration here

Download flyer here

Registration opens at 2PM with free barista made coffee. Speakers will include our three award winners and guest speaker, Prof Sue Thomas, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Research Council.  Following an open discussion, there will be an opportunity to network over drinks and nibbles. And opportunities to see virtual reality displays of proteins in motion.


Pictured: 2016-2018 Georgina Sweet Award winners, committee members, invited speakers and guests.

Thank you to everyone who attended the 2018 Georgina Sweet Awards for Women in Quantitative Biomedical Science on Monday 8th October. We had more than 130 people in attendance to hear presentations from the winners about their research and personal journey in science so far.  Thank you to Leanne Harvey for her insightful keynote address about the path to leadership and the challenges faced by women along the way. Thank you to Westbourne Grammar School for making a special visit and taking steps to encourage the next generation of female scientists.

Congratulations again to our 2018 winners; Cornelia Landersdorfer (Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences), Ana Traven (Monash Biomedicine Discovery Institute) and Aleksandra Filipovska (Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research, UWA).

GS_2018 - Leann, Leanne, Ana, ConnieGS_2018 - Deniz

Pictured above (left to right): Cornelia Landersdorfer (2018 winner), Leann Tilley, Ana Traven (2018 winner), Leanne Harvey (keynote speaker), Deniz (guitarist).
Pictured below: Award attendees in Bio21 atrium after the ceremony.