Doctor of Laws (Honoris Causa)

An honorary degree is the highest honour conferred by the University. It is awarded without the need for completion of the usual requirements of the degree – honoris causa is 'for the sake of the honour' in Latin.

The Doctor of Laws (Honoris Causa) is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to society.


Professor Suzanne Cory AC

Dr Brian McNamee AO

Mr Galarrwuy Yunupingu


Mr Bruce Phillip Bonyhady AM

Mr Harold Charles Mitchell AC


Mr Charles Allen AO


Professor Peter Charles Doherty AC

Professor David Morritz de Kretser AC

Professor Emeritus Thomas John Martin AO

Nuffield Professor of Surgery Emeritus Sir Peter John Morris AC

Professor Fiona Juliet Stanley AC

Professor Hugh Ringland Taylor AC

Professor Judith Ann Whitworth AC