Wood Jones Prize for Human Structure and Function

Study level
Study Area
Fund source
Non- Trust


The Department of Anatomy and Physiology administers three Majors and has made available a prize to the top student in each. In each case, the prize is awarded to the student with the highest aggregate mark across the four subjects that comprise the Major.

Neuroscience Major - Sunderland Prize

Human Structure and Function Major - Wood Jones Prize

Cell and Developmental Biology Major - Lavarack Prize


One prize of $500

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


The Wood Jones Prize is awarded to the student completing a Human Structure and Function Major in any year who has the highest aggregate score in the core subjects ANAT30007 Human Locomotor Systems and ANAT30008 Viscera and Visceral Systems, combined with the aggregate scores in the best two elective subjects that contribute to the major.


Selection is based on academic performance in 3rd year subjects contributing to the major.


Prize winners are notified by letter and email.


Please contact Associate Professor Jason Ivanusic, Department of Anatomy and Physiology, j.ivanusic@unimelb.edu.au.

More information

Who was Professor Fred Wood Jones?

Professor Frederick Wood Jones was a Professor in the Department from 1930 to 1937. He was a Polymath and adventurer. After graduating in Medicine in 1904 in London he became medical officer in the Cocos Islands and published on the formation of coral atolls. Then he became anthropologist to the Egyptian Government assisting the famous anatomist, Elliot-Smith.

He was successively Professor of Anatomy in London (1912), Adelaide (1919), in Anthropology in Hawaii (1927), Anatomy again in Melbourne (1930), in Manchester (1937-45) and at the Royal College of Surgeons until 1951. Sydney Sunderland, who succeeded him in Melbourne, was one of his students.

During his period in Melbourne he wrote 80 papers and several books and took a year's leave to become temporary director of Anatomy at the Beijing Union Medical College.

He was an accomplished artist, poet, author of children's books, philosopher, scientist and educator. He once wrote "I would lay down as an inflexible rule that no teacher should find place on the staff of any University unless actively involved in undertaking some intellectual adventure and that, moreover, he is able and willing to take volunteers along with him upon the expedition". He died in 1954.

Professor Fred Wood Jones


Past awardees:
2020: Bronte Robinson
2019: Jingyan Lin
2018: Nicholas Stevens
2017: Zhengyang Liu
2016: Ross Robertson
2015: Vicky Chen
2014: James Majer

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Biomedical Sciences

Department / Centre