Chancellor's Prize for Excellence in the PhD Thesis

Study level
Graduate Coursework, Graduate Research
Study Area


The Chancellor's Prize for Excellence in the PhD Thesis is awarded each year to up to six nominees. A seventh award may be made to an Indigenous student. You are eligible for nomination if you completed your degree in the previous year.

Nominations are made by faculties on the basis of:

  • International recognition and impact of the research
  • Publications or other research outputs  that arise from or relate to your thesis
  • Recognition of the research (by professional organisations, prizes and awards, invitations to conferences, etc).

Preference is given to theses that are passed without amendment. Theses passed with minor amendments may also be considered.


2016 - Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

  • Sarah Hanieh (Medicine (RMH)
    "Antenatal and early life determinants of infant growth and development in rural Vietnam"
  • Lucille Catherine Rankin (Medical Biology)
    "Distinct requirements for T-bet and Nfil3 for the generation of innate lymphoid cell populations"

2016 - Humanities, Creative Arts and Social Sciences

  • Sophie Elizabeth Rudolph (Melbourne Graduate School of Education)
    "Racing the gap: a critical analysis of Australian Indigenous education policy discourse and its political effects"
  • Stewart Ferguson Fenwick (Melbourne Law School)
    "Is Rawlsian liberalism compatible with Islam? A case study of post-Soeharto Indonesia"

2016 - Science and Engineering

  • James Louis Maino (School of BioSciences)
    "The importance of body size: scaling of physiological traits in insects"
  • Ida Asadi Someh (Computing and Information Systems)
    "The role of synergy in achieving value from business analytics systems"

Past Winners

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Medical School; Biomedical Sciences; Psychological Sciences; Population and Global Health; Health Sciences; Dental School

Department / Centre