Our 2020 program

Congratulations to our 2020 SPARK Melbourne cohort, namely:

  • Associate Professor Laura Downie (Department of Optometry and Vision Sciences, MSHS)
  • Dr Fiona Brownfoot (Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, MMS)
  • Dr William Figgett (Department of Microbiology and Immunology, SBS)
  • Dr Linda Wakim (Department of Microbiology and Immunology , SBS)
  • Dr Glen Carter (Department of Microbiology and Immunology, SBS)
  • Professor Peter Crack (Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, SBS)
  • Associate Professor Bang Bui (Department of Optometry and Vision Sciences, MSHS)
  • Dr Anis Hamid (Department of Surgery, MMS) – Movember-sponsored SPARKee

Researchers were selected on the strength of their projects in relation to the following criteria:

  1. Addresses an unmet clinical need of significance to human health
  2. High likelihood for implementation into clinical practice
  3. Includes a novel approach with potential to file IP or already has IP
  4. Potential to achieve proof of concept to increase the likelihood of developing IP or licensing opportunities, developing clinical trial prospects, forming a spin-out or achieving grant success related to translational research (e.g. NHMRC Development Grants, ARC Linkage Grants) within a two-year period

Our researchers each receive $50,000 to improve licensing and/or clinical trials prospects for their projects. Throughout 2020, researchers will be paired with industry mentors and will have their projects regularly stress-tested to prepare them for industry evaluation.

Applications for the next round of SPARK Melbourne will open next year.