Team selected for 2021 Emory Global Health Case Competition

A team of six University of Melbourne graduate students have been selected to compete in this year's international Global Health Case Competition (GHCC). The students were selected a part of an intramural competition held in December 2020, coordinated by Professor Phil Batterham.

Emma Bendall (Master of International Relations), Nigel Huckle (Master of International Relations), Claire Demeo (Doctor of Medicine), Kathy Zhang (Doctor of Medicine/Master of Public Health), Mariam Hachem (Master of Public Health) and Charlie Higgs (Doctor of Philosophy MDHS) will compete against students from 59 other universities across the world from 13–21 March. The GHCC is held by Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, where typically the UoM team and mentor Associate Professor Nathan Grills would travel to each year.

The team has high standards to live up to after the 2020 UoM team placed second, and the 2019 won the Emory GHCC for the first time since the University began competing in 2014.

The GHCC presents interdisciplinary teams of students with a significant global health challenge that they must develop and present an innovative solution to. Last year, amid the outbreak of COVID-19, the teams were presented with a hypothetical epidemic case on the global eradication of measles.

The intramural GHCC serves as preparation for the international competition. A rigorous selection process is involved that requires the judging panel to choose both a winning team for the intramural competition and an Emory team based on individual performance, peer assessment and academic background.

L–R: Mentor, Associate Professor Nathan Grills and the team, Stefan Joksic; Hayden Burch; Olivia Baenziger; Julia Zhu; Hannah Morgan; and Travis Lines.

Last year's team included Olivia Baenziger (Doctor of Medicine/Master of Public Health), Hayden Burch (Doctor of Medicine/Master of Public Health), Stefan Joksic (Master of International Relations), Travis Lines (Doctor of Medicine/Master of Public Health), Hannah Morgan (Master of Public Health) and Julia Zhu (Master of Education).

The Faculty congratulates the teams on their success and wishes the Emory team the best of luck for the online competition based out of Atlanta.