Sir William Upjohn Medal

The Sir William Upjohn Medal recognises distinguished services to medicine in Australia. Named after prominent surgeon, Sir William George Dismore Upjohn (1888-1979), the prize consists of a gold medal and is open for award every five years.

From Narrabri, New South Wales, Upjohn received his medical education at the University of Melbourne and served at the Royal Melbourne Hospital before entering private practice.  He was a lieutenant-colonel within the Australian Army Medical Corps during World War I, served in the Gallipoli campaign, was a member of medical committees during World War II and helped found the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Upjohn also served as Chancellor of the University of Melbourne between 1966 and 1967.

The Medal was created with funds left over from money raised to commission a portrait of Upjohn by Peter Zageris (1973).

Nominations for this year are now closed. Thank you to all who made a nomination. The committee has met and will make a recommendation to Council. We expect an announcement to be made in late 2020/early 2021.


Richard Smallwood AO


Richard Larkins AC


Graeme Clark AC


Priscilla Kincaid-Smith AC CBE


David G Penington AC


Richard R H Lovell AO


Jacques Miller AC