Dean's Innovation Grants

The Dean's Innovation Grants support researchers working on translational research requiring further funding to progress to the proof-of-concept stage.


The Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences Dean’s Innovation Grants aim to boost the Faculty’s commercial pipeline for scientific discoveries by supporting the development of innovative projects to a stage where they are well positioned to attract subsequent funding from government, industry or venture capital to progress to the next phase of Research & Development.

Research translation underpins the Faculty's relationships with partner organisations and is a key commitment in the MDHS Advancing Health 2030 plan.

The grants are awarded annually to researchers with compelling projects that have the potential to achieve significant societal impact and/or economic benefit – in line with initiatives such as the Medical Research Future Fund and its mission to transform research to improve lives, build the economy and contribute to health system sustainability.


Applications will be considered for funding up to $50,000 for projects with the potential to achieve significant societal and/or economic benefit.


Applicants must hold a salaried appointment (fixed-term or continuing) at Level A, B or C within the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the time of application and for the duration of the grant.

Key Dates

Applications for 2022 closed in August.

How to Apply

Information on how to apply can be accessed via the MDHS Faculty Intranet.


Enquiries regarding the Dean’s Innovation Grants scheme can be directed to the MDHS Research Support & Evaluation team.

Previous Recipients

Since its introduction in 2018, the Dean's Innovation Grants have opened up opportunities for research collaboration, industry engagement and the encouragement of innovation and translation across a wide range of projects. The previous award winners are detailed below.

Dr Garron Dodd
Dr Carmine Onofrillo
Ms Ke Cao
Dr Leanne Teoh
Dr Adam Wheatley

Dr Stephanie Neville 
Dr Lincon Stamp

Mr Aaron Collins
Dr Tami Yap

Dr Glen Carter
A/Prof Linda Wakim

Dr Brendan Chua
A/Prof Laura Downie
Dr Matias Maturana