Graham Burrows Travelling Scholarship

20th Dec 2022
12th Feb 2023
Study level
Graduate Research
Scholarship; Travel
Enrolment status
Current student
Study Area
Fund source
Perpetual Trust (UOM)
Fund basis

UTR 6.380


Professor Graham Burrows AO (1938-2016) was a mental-health clinician, researcher, mentor, and advocate. In addition to his role as an academic at the University, Prof. Burrows was the Director of Psychiatry at Austin Health. He was actively involved in the Australian Medical Association, and the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists, as well as numerous international organisations, including The International Society for the Investigation of Stress. Prof. Burrows advocated strongly for the mentally ill, and published over 743 scientific articles, as well as authoring or co-authoring more than 104 books/chapters during his career.  He was the first psychiatrist to be awarded the Doctor of Science Degree in 2004 at the University of Melbourne. The Graham Burrows Travelling Scholarship commenced in 2018.

This award is a travelling scholarship to support a PhD student, in the Department of Psychiatry at The University of Melbourne, providing the opportunity to present their research at an international meeting.


2023 only - 2 scholarships to the value of $5,000 each

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


The award is open to a PhD student of the Department of Psychiatry, to present their research at an international meeting.


Selection will be based on an applicant's:

  • Potential to make a significant contribution to mental-health research and approaches
  • Capacity to communicate complex ideas and theory, and the ability to undertake research in a clinical setting.

The selection of applications for the award is undertaken by an assessment committee.


Please apply using the attached template: Link here

Closing date for applications: Sunday, 12 February 2023 at 11.59pm


Please email the Department of Psychiatry Department Coordinator:

More information

  • Travel must be undertaken in the year that the scholarship is awarded.
  • The scholarship recipient will be required to make a presentation and submit a written report on the outcomes of their scholarship.


Previous Recipients:

2022 Hope O'Brien
2021 Not awarded
2020 Divyangana Rakesh
2019 Dr Terence Chong

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Medical School

Department / Centre