The Dr Angelika Zimmerman Medical Scholarship

1st Jan 2022
6th Mar 2022
Study level
Graduate Coursework
Enrolment status
Current student
Study Area
Individual donation
Fund source
Perpetual Trust (UOM)
Fund basis



Dr Hans Prem is a Mechanical Engineering alumnus and obtained his PhD in 1984 from the University of Melbourne. He has many years of engineering and engineering research experience in vehicle dynamics. Dr Prem made his gift in memory of his late wife, Dr Angelika Zimmerman, a child psychiatrist and University of Melbourne alumna (MBBS 1968). Dr Zimmerman had an enormous impact on the children and the families she treated. This scholarship will assist medical students with financial disadvantage to pursue a career in medicine and positively impact the lives of patients and communities, as Dr Zimmerman did during her lifetime.


One or more scholarships awarded annually. Value of each award is up to $10,000.

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


Students must be enrolled in the Doctor of Medicine (MC‚ÄźDMED), and have demonstrated financial need (refer to selection criteria). Students must submit an online Student Financial Assessment form by the Round One closing date through Melbourne Scholarships. Applications are assessed and ranked by Scholarships & Bursaries (University Services) using the Student Financial Assessment process.


The selection of a recipient is based on the applicant’s financial aid ranking as provided by the University Scholarships office, taking into consideration whether applicants have received other Financial Aid bursaries or University/Faculty Scholarships in that year. Recipient will be selected by the Melbourne Medical School Scholarships and Bursary Allocation Committee.


Currently enrolled MD students must submit an online Student Financial Assessment form by the closing date.


MMS Student Awards Officer

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Medical School

Department / Centre