N A Twiss Scholarship

Study level
Graduate Research
Enrolment status
Future student; Current student
Study Area
Fund source
Perpetual Trust (UOM)
Fund basis



Funds are Generously donated from the estate of Noel Arthur Twiss, late of East Malvern in the State of Victoria, who died on 22 July 1970. The income from the N.A. Twiss Trust fund is applied by the University of Melbourne for the benefit and advancement generally of Dental Education in the State of Victoria. Where a person is given financial support from the fund, his or her grant is known as the Noel Arthur Twiss Scholarship.


The Award may be a full stipend or a partial (top up) stipend to a recipient of a Faculty Scholarship.

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


To be eligible for the award students must be applying for

  • a graduate degree program (PhD or MPhil) in research in the Melbourne Dental School.

*Receipt of the award is contingent on accepting an offer to study at the University.


Eligible applicants are selected on the basis of academic merit, faculty scholarship score, project proposal, demonstrated interest and capacity to undertake a research project, and career aspiration. The selection committee will base its assessment on the application form, academic transcripts, the faculty scholarship score, the applicant’s project proposal, CV and referee reports. The selection committee may conduct interviews with applicants to support clear and transparent selection processes.


Applicants to Graduate Research degrees at the Melbourne Dental School will be automatically considered for this scholarship at the time of submission of their application to the degree and concurrent consideration for a Melbourne Graduate Research Scholarship.

No additional application is required.

Successful candidates will be advised of the outcome of their application according to the Faculty's published timelines.


Please contact mds-researchsupport@unimelb.edu.au for any questions about this award.


2020 Recipients

Bansari Shah
Stephanie Gomez

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Dental School

Department / Centre