Michael Permezel Prize

Study level
Graduate Coursework, Graduate Research
Enrolment status
Current student
Study Area
Obstetrics and Gynaecology


The prize was established to commemorate the passionate, unique and long-standing contribution of Prof Michael Permezel to teaching and learning for medical students in Women’s Health at the University of Melbourne.


The value of this award is $200.

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


The prize recognises outstanding achievement in research in Women’s Health within the MD course.

To be considered for this award, students must

  • Be enrolled in the Doctor of Medicine (MD) course and have completed a research project in Women’s health as part of the MDRP (MD research project) subject during the time of their enrolment.
  • Have scored in the top 20% of submitted MD research projects in Women’s Health for the year.


Eligible projects will be reviewed by the selection panel.

Projects will be scored by the panel according to

  1. the originality and quality of the project,
  2. the potential contribution of the project to the health of women or babies,
  3. student contribution to the project.

The award will be offered to the student with the highest average score from the selection panel.


Students can apply for the prize by submitting a written application to the Women’s Health subject coordinator including the name of the project, name(s) of the supervisor(s), a summary of the project in 200 words or less and a description of the student’s contribution to the project.

At the time of application, candidates must provide a summary of their research to be published in a Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology publication.


Most merit-based prize recipients will be advised in writing in Semester One of the following academic year.


All enquiries to mms-studentawards@unimelb.edu.au.

More information

The selection panel may decide not to award the prize in any year if it is determined that the applications received are not of sufficient quality.


2022 - Lewis

2021 - Not awarded

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Medical School

Department / Centre

Obstetrics and Gynaecology