Lavarack Prize for Cell & Developmental Biology

Study level
Study Area
Fund source
Non- Trust


The Department of Anatomy and Physiology administers three Majors and has made available a prize to the top student in each. In each case, the prize is awarded to the student with the highest aggregate mark across the four subjects that comprise the Major.

Neuroscience Major - Sunderland Prize

Human Structure and Function Major - Wood Jones Prize

Cell and Developmental Biology Major - Lavarack Prize


One prize of $500

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


Awarded to the student completing a Cell and Developmental Biology Major in any year who has the highest score in the core subject CEDB30002 Concepts in Cell & Developmental Biology, combined with the aggregate scores in the best three elective subjects that contribute to the major.


Selection is based on academic performance in 3rd year subjects contributing to the major.


Prize winners are notified by letter and email.


Please contact Dr Charlotte Clark, Department of Anatomy and Physiology,

More information

Who was Dr John Lavarack?

John Ochiltree Lavarack was born in 1914 and graduated MBBS from the University of Melbourne in 1938. In 1939 he became a Resident Medical Officer at the Alfred Hospital and in 1940 he joined the armed forces, reaching the rank of Major as a Specialist Pathologist.

In 1947, accepted an appointment in the Department of Pathology at the University of Melbourne and then with the Department of Anatomy in 1949. He worked with Sir Sydney Sunderland on peripheral nerve injury. He is remembered for his teaching in embryology, where his fine blackboard drawings were famous for aiding his clear explanations of a complex subject.  In 1953 he was awarded a CJ Martin Fellowship from the NH&MRC and worked at King's College in London. He completed his PhD in 1953 and was appointed Reader in 1956. He died in 1998.

Dr John Ochiltree Lavarack


Past awardees:

2020: Yihe Wang
2019: Josephine White
2018: Stanley Hartono
2017: Mitchell Alexander
2016: The joint prize winners were Indah Cox-Livingstone and James Toohey
2015: The joint prize winners were Xin Wang and Ebony Selers
2014: Rachel Brown

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Biomedical Sciences

Department / Centre