June Howqua Prize

7th Feb 2020
26th Apr 2020
Study level
Graduate Coursework
Enrolment status
Current student
Study Area
Fund source
Perpetual Trust (UOM)
Fund basis



Applications are now closed for 2020.

Donor: The late June Louise Howqua MBBS (Hons) (1944), MD (1947). June worked for the Queen Victoria Hospital, the only hospital at the time that was run by women, exclusively for women. She maintained close contact with the University until she passed away.


The value of the prize is up to $5,000*

* Final prize value is at the discretion of the June Howqua Prize Committee.

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


Awarded to the 'most promising student' enrolled in the final year of the Doctor of Medicine (MD).

The 2020 award is open to Doctor of Medicine students commencing their final-year of study in 2020.


The final recipient will be selected by the June Howqua Prize Committee.

Applicants will be judged on their answers to the submission questions, their academic record, and level of financial need.


Students are asked to complete a Student Financial Assessment form and submit a personal statement (400 words) addressing what they intend to do post-graduation and how the prize will benefit them.

Applicants must address:

  • How the prize will benefit the applicant’s life and studies;
  • What the applicant intends to do following the completion of their medical degree and how this will benefit the community;
  • How the prize will enable applicants to undertake activities otherwise made difficult without this financial support

Application is online via this link: June Howqua Application Form.

Student Financial Assessment form


Please contact the MMS Student Awards Officer on mms-studentawards@unimelb.edu.au.

More information

Open to final-year Doctor of Medicine students only.


2019 - Zia Sass

2018 - Shannah Mousaco

2017 - Melanie Eden

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Medical School

Department / Centre