Hector Maclean Ophthalmology Prize

Study level
Graduate Coursework
Enrolment status
Current student
Study Area
Association Donation
Fund source
Expendable Gift


This Prize is not available in 2021.

Sponsored by The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists.


The value of the prize is $500.

Disclaimer: The benefit amount for this award is approximate. It will be confirmed at the time of awarding and determined by the committee according to the terms of the award.


Open to final year medical students at University of Melbourne, Deakin, Monash and Victorian University of Notre Dame.

Awarded to the medical student who obtains highest marks in a special written and clinical examination in ophthalmology.


This Prize is not available in 2021.

The prize exam is conducted in two parts:

Written Examination (MCQ, 75 mins) 
Event Time: Saturday 22nd August, 9:00am
Event Location: St Vincent's Clinical School

Oral Examination (for shortlisted candidates only)
Event Time: Saturday 29th August
Event Location: TBA


This Prize is not available in 2021.

Applications for 2020 will close Sunday 9th August.

Register for the written examination here: http://go.unimelb.edu.au/5hcr


Shortlisted students will be notified about the details of the oral examination via their registered email.


Please contact the MMS Student Awards Officer on mms-studentawards@unimelb.edu.au for more information.


2019 - Elena Yingqiu Zhu (University of Melbourne)

2018 - Eleanor Nicklason (University of Melbourne)

2017 - Brandon Thia (Monash University)

2013 - Thomas Gin (University of Melbourne)

If you have been a previous recipient of this prize and would like your name included on this webpage, please contact mms-studentawards@unimelb.edu.au.

Scholarship Management


Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences


Medical School

Department / Centre