Paediatrics Projects

Heads up! Use the arrows to sort the table data by column.

Department Nodes Supervisor(s) Email(s) Project Research Opportunity
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Anneke Grobler
Doctor Katherine Lange
anneke.grobler@mcri.edu.au
katherine.lange@mcri.edu.au
'Beating the odds': Early life experiences influencing the association between genetic prediction and language development in mid-childhood Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Gerald Murray
Professor Suzanne Garland
gerald.murray@mcri.edu.au
suzanne.garland@thewomens.org.au
Antibiotic resistance mechanisms in Mycoplasma Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor David Burgner
Dr Mihiri Silva
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
mihiri.silva@unimelb.edu.au
Application of intra-oral 3-Dimensional Scanning to monitor oral health in children PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor John Christodoulou
Professor David Thorburn
john.christodoulou@mcri.edu.au
david.thorburn@mcri.edu.au
Application of multi-omic approaches to identify the genetic bases of disorders of mitochondrial oxidative phosphorylation. Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Richard Saffery
Associate Professor Ben Edwards
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
ben.edwards@anu.edu.au
Australian children and adults exposure to trace elements, and their association with cognition and development Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Julie Bines
Doctor Celeste Donato
jebines@unimelb.edu.au
celeste.donato@mcri.edu.au
Characterisation of rotavirus strains emerging in the vaccine era Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Gulcan Sarila
Professor John Hutson
gulcan.sarila@mcri.edu.au
john.hutson@mcri.edu.au
Characterising the genetic profile of gubernacular cells derived from androgen receptor knockout mice (ARKO) during testicular descent Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Paul Licciardi
Doctor Lien Anh Ha Do
paul.licciardi@mcri.edu.au
lienanhha.do@mcri.edu.au
Characterising the immune response to RSV in preterm and term infants Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Burgner
Dr Siroon Bekkering
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
siroon.bekkering@mcri.edu.au
Common severe childhood infections, innate inflammatory responses and cardiometabolic risk: The VASCular changes aFter INfectious Diseases (VASCFIND) study PhD
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Vicki Anderson
Vicki.Anderson@rch.org.au
Concussion Essentials: A clinical trial for reducing persisting symptoms after child concussion PhD
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Sebastian King
Dr Simona Carbone
sebastian.king@rch.org.au
simona.carbone @monash.edu
Defining the functional pathology of Hirschsprung Disease Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Kirsten Perrett
Doctor Thanh Dang
Kirsten.Perrett@rch.org.au
thanh.dang@mcri.edu.au
Developing novel diagnosis methods for tree nut allergies Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Kirsten Perrett
Dr Thanh Dang
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
thanh.dang@mcri.edu.au
Developing novel methods for the diagnosis of tree nut allergies PhD
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Amanda Gwee
Prof Sarath Ranganathan
amanda.gwee@rch.org.au
Sarath.Ranganathan@rch.org.au
Dose optimisation of antibiotics in children with cystic fibrosis PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Ruili Li
Professor John Hutson
ruili.li@mcri.edu.au
john.hutson@mcri.edu.au
Effect of congenital UDT on Gonocyte development Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Ken Pang
Dr Michelle Tollit
ken.pang@mcri.edu.au
michelle.tollit@mcri.edu.au
Evaluating health outcomes of transgender children and adolescents
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcri.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Expression systems for pluripotent stem cells and their differentiated derivatives PhD, Masters by Research, Honours, Master of Biomedical Science, Post Doctor Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Lincon Stamp
Doctor Marlene Hao
lstamp@unimelb.edu.au
hao.m@unimelb.edu.au
Gut epithelial stem cell function: the influence of enteric neurons Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Richard Saffery
Professor David Burgner
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
How do early-life exposures shape childhood metabolomic profile? Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Zheng Quan Toh
Associate Professor Paul Licciardi
zheng.quantoh@mcri.edu.au
paul.licciardi@mcri.edu.au
HPV immunity as markers of protection against infection Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Katie Ayers
Professor Andrew Sinclair
katie.ayers@mcri.edu.au
andrew.sinclair@mcri.edu.au
Human testis organoids - a novel stem cell model for reproductive disorders Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Andrew Sinclair
Doctor Katie Ayers
andrew.sinclair@mcri.edu.au
katie.ayers@mcri.edu.au
Identification of new genes that cause Disorders/Differences of Sex Development Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Paul Licciardi
Doctor Dan Pellicci
paul.licciardi@mcri.edu.au
dan.pellicci@mcri.edu.au
Immunological responses following pneumococcal conjugate vaccination Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Alison Archibald
Dr Belinda McClaren
alison.archibald@vcgs.org.au
belinda.mcclaren@unimelb.edu.au
Implementation considerations for a national program for expanded reproductive carrier screening PhD
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Sharon Goldfeld
Associate Professor Susan Woolfenden
sharon.goldfeld@rch.org.au
susan.woolfenden@health.nsw.gov.au
Inequities in children’s mental health: evidence to inform precision policy responses PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Jennifer Marino
jennifer.marino@unimelb.edu.au
Long-term health and social implications of risk-taking in adolescence PhD, Masters by Research, Honours, Post Doctor Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Jeanie Cheong
jeanie.cheong@thewomens.org.au
Long-term impact of moderate and late preterm birth: effects on neurodevelopment, brain development and respiratory health at school age PhD
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcri.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Making B-lymphocytes form pluripotent stem cells PhD, Masters by Research, Honours, Master of Biomedical Science, Post Doctor Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Richard Saffery
Professor Melissa Wake
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
Maximising the utility of clinical samples collected in pregnancy for population-based microbiome analysis at scale Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Professor Adrienne Harvey
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
Measuring child and family centred outcomes following spinal surgery for children with neuromuscular scoliosis PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Adrienne Harvey
Professor David Amor
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Measuring pain in children with cerebral palsy who are unable to self-report Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Adrienne Harvey
Professor David Amor
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Measuring pain in children with developmental disabilities PhD, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Anushi Rajapaksa
Professor John Wark
anushi.rajapaksa@mcri.edu.au
jdwark@unimelb.edu.au
Milk 4 D study: Validaiton of a novel low cost point-of-need diagnostic for the Assessment of Vitamin D Deficiency in infants Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Margie Danchin
Dr Alexandra Ure
margie.danchin@rch.org.au
alexandra.ure@unimelb.edu.au
MIND the Vax Gap: Measuring Immunisation in NeuroDiverse populations and developing an intervention to improve uptake PhD
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Ann Frazier
Professor David Thorburn
ann.frazier@mcri.edu.au
david.thorburn@mcri.edu.au
Mitochondrial disease caused by ATAD3 rearrangments: Unravelling the complexity Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcir.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Modelling T-cell Development using pluripotent stem cells PhD, Masters by Research, Honours, Master of Biomedical Science, Post Doctor Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Angela Morgan
angela.morgan@mcri.edu.au
Neuropsychological profile of children with childhood apraxia of speech PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor David Godler
Doctor Emma Baker
david.godler@mcri.edu.au
emma.baker@mcri.edu.au
Novel molecular and clinical aspects of FMR1 in fragile X syndrome with implications for patient management Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Professor Adrienne Harvey
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
Pain in children with cerebral palsy and other developmental disabilities PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Emma Baker
Professor David Amor
emma.baker@mcri.edu.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Peripheral UBE3A expression as a predictor of the clinical phenotype in Angelman Syndrome Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Ann Frazier
Professor David Thorburn
ann.frazier@mcri.edu.au
david.thorburn@mcri.edu.au
Pluripotent stem cell models of mitochondrial disease Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Lincon Stamp
Associate Professor Sebastian King
lstamp@unimelb.edu.au
Sebastian.King@rch.org.au
Potential of stem cell therapy to treat Hirschsprung's disease Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Dr Prue Pereira-Fantini
A/Prof David Tingay
prue.pereira@mcri.edu.au
David.Tingay@rch.org.au
Respiratory strategies to protect the preterm lung at birth PhD, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Amanda Gwee
Prof Nigel Curtis
amanda.gwee@rch.org.au
nigel.curtis@rch.org.au
Short course antibiotic therapy for acute septic arthritis and haematogenous osteomyelitis in children PhD, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Burgner
Assoc Prof Kirsten Perrett
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
The cardiometabolic legacy of SARS-CoV-2 in longitudinal adolescents PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Sharon Lewis
Doctor Katherine Lange
sharon.lewis@mcri.edu.au
katherine.lange@mcri.edu.au
The relationship between diet and mental health in children and young adults Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Richard Saffery
Professor David Burgner
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
The same but different: Transcriptional responses to inflammatory stimuli in phenotypically discordant monozygotic twins Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor David Amor
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Towards treatment of intellectual disability caused by errors in the chromatin machinery PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Jemimah Ride
Professor Harriet Hiscock
jemimah.ride@unimelb.edu.au
harriet.hiscock@mcri.edu.au
Understanding family preferences for accessing mental healthcare for children with chronic physical health problems Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Katherine Chen
Professor Harriet Hiscock
katherine.chen@rch.org.au
harriet.hiscock@rch.org.au
Understanding hospital, GP, and family factors associated with paediatric asthma re-admissions Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Catherine Satzke
Doctor Sam Manna
catherine.satzke@mcri.edu.au
sam.manna@mcri.edu.au
Understanding the importance of variation in the capsular polysaccharide of Streptococcus pneumoniae Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Dave Coghill
Dr Melissa Mulraney
david.coghill@unimelb.edu.au
melissa.mulraney@mcri.edu.au
Utilizing technology to optimise ADHD care Masters by Research, Honours
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Jonathan Mynard
Associate Professor Michael Cheung
jonathan.mynard@mcri.edu.au
michael.cheung@rch.org.au
Validation of automated blood pressure devices in children Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute AProf Penelope Bryant
Prof Nigel Curtis
penelope.bryant@rch.org.au
nigel.curtis@rch.org.au
Vive La Resistance: Mapping Antimicrobial Resistance in Children PhD
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Nicole Van Bergen
Professor John Christodoulou
nicole.vanbergen@mcri.edu.au
john.christodoulou@mcri.edu.au
What are the functional consequences of CDKL5 dysregulation in patient derived neuronal cells? Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Catherine Satzke
Professor Fiona Russell
catherine.satzke@mcri.edu.au
fmruss@unimelb.edu.au
What is the microbiological effect of a single dose of azithromycin given in labour? PhD, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Doctor Ruili Li
Professor John Hutson
ruili.li@mcri.edu.au
john.hutson@mcri.edu.au
What role does Bax play during gonocyte transformation into spermatogonial stem cells? Honours, Master of Biomedical Science
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Doctor Rachel Peters
Doctor Suzanne Mavoa
rachel.peters@mcri.edu.au
suzanne.mavoa@unimelb.edu.au
What role does the built environment play in the development of allergic diseases? Honours