Paediatrics Projects

Heads up! Use the arrows to sort the table data by column.

Department Nodes Supervisor(s) Email(s) Project Research Opportunity
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Shireen Lamande
Prof John Bateman
shireen.lamande@mcri.edu.au
john.bateman@mcri.edu.au
A clinical trial-in-a-dish using iPSC-derived cartilage and bone organoids PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Kiymet Bozaoglu
Prof Paul Lockhart
kiymet.bozaoglu@mcri.edu.au
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
A high throughput drug screen to identify candidate targets for the treatment of Neurofibromatosis Type 1. PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Rachel Peters
Dr Jennifer Koplin
rachel.peters@mcri.edu.au
jennifer.koplin@mcri.edu.au
Adverse health consequences of infant food allergy: a population-based longitudinal study. PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yanhong Jessika Hu
Prof Melissa Wake
jessika.hu@mcri.edu.au
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
Antibiotic stewardship and related polices impact on child health outcomes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yanhong Jessika Hu
Prof Melissa Wake
jessika.hu@mcri.edu.au
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
Antibiotic stewardship and related polices impact on child health outcomes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Sarah Knight
A/Prof Adam Scheinberg
sarah.knight@mcri.edu.au
adam.scheinberg@mcri.edu.au
Assessment and management of fatigue following paediatric acquired brain injury PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Nigel Curtis
Dr Nicole Messina
brace@mcri.edu.au
brace@mcri.edu.au
BRACE trial PhD opportunities PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Margie Danchin
Dr Jessica Kaufman
margie.danchin@rch.org.au
jess.kaufman@mcri.edu.au
Cluster RCT of a multi-component intervention package to improve maternal and childhood vaccination in Victoria PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Burgner
Dr Siroon Bekkering
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
siroon.bekkering@mcri.edu.au
Common severe childhood infections, innate inflammatory responses and cardiometabolic risk: The VASCular changes aFter INfectious Diseases (VASCFIND) study PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Vicki Anderson
Vicki.Anderson@rch.org.au
Concussion Essentials: A clinical trial for reducing persisting symptoms after child concussion PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Jessica Vanslambrouk
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
jessica.vanslambrouk@mcri.edu.au
Controlling nephron patterning and segmentation in kidney organoids PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Kynan Lawlor
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
kynan.lawlor@mcri.edu.au
Developing computational approaches to analyse development and disease PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Aude Dorison
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
aude.dorison@mcri.edu.au
Developing high content screens of novel treatments for congenital nephrotic syndrome PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Kirsten Perrett
Dr Thanh Dang
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
thanh.dang@mcri.edu.au
Developing novel methods for the diagnosis of tree nut allergies PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof Martin Delatycki
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
martin.delatycki@vcgs.org.au
Development of novel human stem cell derived models of beta-propeller protein-associated neurodegeneration for disease modelling and drug screening PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof David Amor
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Discovery of new treatments for brain development disorders linked to epigenetic regulatory genes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Amanda Gwee
Prof Sarath Ranganathan
amanda.gwee@rch.org.au
Sarath.Ranganathan@rch.org.au
Dose optimisation of antibiotics in children with cystic fibrosis PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcri.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Expression systems for pluripotent stem cells and their differentiated derivatives PhD students, Masters by Research, Post Doctor Researchers
Paediatrics Royal Melbourne Hospital,Murdoch Children's Research Institute (MCRI) Prof David Eisenstat
Dr Maree Faux
david.eisenstat@mcri.edu.au
maree.faux@mcri.edu.au
Gene regulation in the developing retina and the childhood eye cancer retinoblastoma PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Valerie Sung
Prof David Amor
valerie.sung@rch.org.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Genetics of childhood hearing loss PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Melbourne Hospital,Murdoch Children's Research Institute (MCRI) Prof Richard Saffery
Dr Boris Novakovic
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
boris.novakovic@mcri.edu.au
High Dimensional Immune and Epigenetic Profiling of Children with Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA) PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof Richard Leventer
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
Richard.Leventer@rch.org.au
Identifying the genetic causes of brain malformation in children PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Mimi Tang
Dr Sarah Ashley
mimi.tang@rch.org.au
sarah.ashley@mcri.edu.au
Immune mechanisms of peanut allergy remission PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Richard Saffery
A/Prof Kirsten Perrett
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
Immunoregulatory effects of Vitamin D supplementation on the development of allergy in the first year of life PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Alison Archibald
Dr Belinda McClaren
alison.archibald@vcgs.org.au
belinda.mcclaren@unimelb.edu.au
Implementation considerations for a national program for expanded reproductive carrier screening PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Wake
Dr Jing Wang
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
jing.wang@mcri.edu.au
Improving lifetime outcomes for babies in special care nurseries PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Sharon Goldfeld
Associate Professor Susan Woolfenden
sharon.goldfeld@rch.org.au
susan.woolfenden@health.nsw.gov.au
Inequities in children’s mental health: evidence to inform precision policy responses PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Catherine Satzke
Dr Sam Manna
catherine.satzke@mcri.edu.au
sam.manna@mcri.edu.au
Interplay between Streptococcus pneumoniae and respiratory viruses PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Paul Lockhart
Dr Yujin Gao
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
yujing.gao@mcri.edu.au
Investigating the molecular basis of parkinson's disease using novel genetic models PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Eisenstat
david.eisenstat@mcri.edu.au
Linking determination of cell fate in the developing nervous system to paediatric brain tumours PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Jeanie Cheong
jeanie.cheong@thewomens.org.au
Long-term impact of moderate and late preterm birth: effects on neurodevelopment, brain development and respiratory health at school age PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Valerie Sung
Dr Lisa Mundy
valerie.sung@rch.org.au
lisa.mundy@mcri.edu.au
Longitudinal and secular trends in outcomes for adolescents with hearing impairment in Victoria PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcri.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Making B-lymphocytes form pluripotent stem cells PhD students, Masters by Research, Post Doctor Researchers
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yanhong Jessika Hu
Prof Melissa Wake
jessika.hu@mcri.edu.au
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
Mapping hospital health records in Victoria, Australia for tracking pregnancy medicines use PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Anita d'Aprano
anita.daprano@unimelb.edu.au
Measuring developmental outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Alejandro Hidalgo-Gonzalez
Dr Holly Voges
alejandro.hidalgogon@mcri.edu.au
holly.vogues@mcri.edu.au
Metabolic reprogramming of the failing heart PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Catherine Satzke
Dr Laura Boelsen
catherine.satzke@mcri.edu.au
laura.boelsen@mcri.edu.au
Microbial changes following pneumococcal conjugate vaccination PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcir.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Modelling T-cell Development using pluripotent stem cells PhD students, Masters by Research, Post Doctor Researchers
Paediatrics Royal Melbourne Hospital,Murdoch Children's Research Institute (MCRI) Prof Richard Saffery
Dr Boris Novakovic
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
boris.novakovic@mcri.edu.au
Molecular remodelling of endothelial cells in response to specific lymphocytes and other signals PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Jessica Vanslambrouk
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
jessica.vanslambrouk@mcri.edu.au
Nephrotoxicity screening using stem cell-derived proximal tubules PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Angela Morgan
angela.morgan@mcri.edu.au
Neuropsychological profile of children with childhood apraxia of speech PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Sarah Knight
A/Prof Adam Scheinberg
sarah.knight@mcri.edu.au
adam.scheinberg@mcri.edu.au
Optimising use of everyday technology for children and adolescents with acquired brain injury PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Professor Adrienne Harvey
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
Pain in children with cerebral palsy and other developmental disabilities PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Women’s Hospital Professor Denise Harrison
deniseh@unimelb.edu.au
Partnering to reduce neonatal pain Honours students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Salvatore Pepe
Prof Christian Brizard
salvatore.pepe@mcri.edu.au
christian.brizard@mcri.edu.au
Placental Cord Blood Cell Therapy in Children at High Risk of Heart Failure PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Wake
A/Prof Joanne Said
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
jsaid@unimelb.edu.au
Precision prediction of maternal and child outcomes from routine fetal ultrasounds PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Kirsten Perrett
Professor David Burgner David Burgner
kirsten.perett@rch.org.au
david.burgner@rch.org.au
Predictors of infection, clinical severity and immunological legacy of SARS-CoV-2 in extant longitudinal LifeCourse population cohorts of children and their household/family contacts PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Kirsten Perrett
Dr Vicki McWilliam
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
vicki.mcwilliam@mcri.edu.au
Prevention of nut allergies in high risk infants PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Tiong Tan
A/Prof Sue White
tiong.tan@vcgs.org.au
sue.white@vcgs.org.au
Rare Diseases Now - Great care for rare PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Aude Dorison
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
aude.dorison@mcri.edu.au
Regulating the vascularisation of the human glomerulus in vitro. PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Melanie Neeland
Prof Sarath Ranganathan
melanie.neeland@mcri.edu.au
sarath.ranganathan@rch.org.au
Resolving inflammation in childhood respiratory disease PhD students
Paediatrics Dr Prue Pereira-Fantini
A/Prof David Tingay
prue.pereira@mcri.edu.au
David.Tingay@rch.org.au
Respiratory strategies to protect the preterm lung at birth PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Christine Imms
christine.imms@unimelb.edu.au
Supporting young people with complex disability to participate in important life situations PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Wake
Prof Richard Saffery
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
Taking placenta to scale: The population burden of disordered placentation and placental function PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Melbourne Hospital,Murdoch Children's Research Institute (MCRI) A/Prof Ken Pang
Dr Nicholas Veldhuis
ken.pang@mcri.edu.au
nicholas.veldhuis@monash.edu
Targeting novel mediators of chronic pain to improve analgesia for Epidermolysis Bullosa PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor David Amor
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Towards treatment of intellectual disability caused by errors in the chromatin machinery PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Christine Imms
Prof Dinah Reddihough
christine.imms@unimelb.edu.au
Dinah.reddihough@rch.org.au
Understanding and defining supportive health/NDIS service environments PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Catherine Satzke
Dr Sam Manna
catherine.satzke@mcri.edu.au
sam.manna@mcri.edu.au
Understanding pneumococcal pathogenesis PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Kiymet Bozaoglu
Prof Paul Lockhart
kiymet.bozaoglu@mcri.edu.au
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
Understanding the neurobiology of autism in NF1 using patient derived stem cell models PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Melanie Neeland
Prof Sarath Ranganathan
melanie.neeland@mcri.edu.au
sarath.ranganathan@rch.org.au
Unravelling the Inflammatory Signatures of Paediatric Respiratory Disease PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Dave Coghill
Dr Melissa Mulraney
david.coghill@unimelb.edu.au
melissa.mulraney@mcri.edu.au
Utilizing technology to optimise ADHD care Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Kirsten Perrett
Dr Jennifer Koplin
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
jennifer.koplin@mcri.edu.au
Vitamin D supplementation for prevention of allergy in the first year of life PhD students