Paediatrics Projects

Heads up! Use the arrows to sort the table data by column.

Department Nodes Supervisor(s) Email(s) Project Research Opportunity
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Gabrielle Haeusler
Prof Karin Thursky
gabrielle.haeusler@petermac.org
A randomised controlled trial of short-course antibiotics in children with cancer and febrile neutropenia PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yanhong Jessika Hu
Prof Melissa Wake
jessika.hu@mcri.edu.au
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
Antibiotic stewardship and related polices impact on child health outcomes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yanhong Jessika Hu
Prof Melissa Wake
jessika.hu@mcri.edu.au
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
Antibiotic stewardship and related polices impact on child health outcomes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor David Burgner
Dr Mihiri Silva
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
mihiri.silva@unimelb.edu.au
Application of intra-oral 3-Dimensional Scanning to monitor oral health in children PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Sarah Knight
A/Prof Adam Scheinberg
sarah.knight@mcri.edu.au
adam.scheinberg@mcri.edu.au
Assessment and management of fatigue following paediatric acquired brain injury PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Margie Danchin
Dr Jessica Kaufman
margie.danchin@rch.org.au
jess.kaufman@mcri.edu.au
Cluster RCT of a multi-component intervention package to improve maternal and childhood vaccination in Victoria PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Burgner
Dr Siroon Bekkering
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
siroon.bekkering@mcri.edu.au
Common severe childhood infections, innate inflammatory responses and cardiometabolic risk: The VASCular changes aFter INfectious Diseases (VASCFIND) study PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Vicki Anderson
Vicki.Anderson@rch.org.au
Concussion Essentials: A clinical trial for reducing persisting symptoms after child concussion PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Jessica Vanslambrouk
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
jessica.vanslambrouk@mcri.edu.au
Controlling nephron patterning and segmentation in kidney organoids PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Nigel Curtis
Dr Nicole Messina
Nigel.Curtis@rch.org.au
nicole.messina@mcri.edu.au
Defining the mechanisms that underpin the beneficial off-target effects of BCG PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Kynan Lawlor
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
kynan.lawlor@mcri.edu.au
Developing computational approaches to analyse development and disease PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Aude Dorison
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
aude.dorison@mcri.edu.au
Developing high content screens of novel treatments for congenital nephrotic syndrome PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Kirsten Perrett
Dr Thanh Dang
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
thanh.dang@mcri.edu.au
Developing novel methods for the diagnosis of tree nut allergies PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof David Amor
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Discovery of new treatments for brain development disorders linked to epigenetic regulatory genes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Amanda Gwee
Prof Sarath Ranganathan
amanda.gwee@rch.org.au
Sarath.Ranganathan@rch.org.au
Dose optimisation of antibiotics in children with cystic fibrosis PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Boris Novakovic
Prof Richard Saffery
boris.novakovic@mcri.edu.au
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
Epigenomic remodelling of immunity by reproductive and sex-hormones PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcri.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Expression systems for pluripotent stem cells and their differentiated derivatives PhD students, Masters by Research, Post Doctor Researchers
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Valerie Sung
Prof David Amor
valerie.sung@rch.org.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Genetics of childhood hearing loss PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof Richard Leventer
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
Richard.Leventer@rch.org.au
Identifying the genetic causes of brain malformation in children PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Mimi Tang
Dr Sarah Ashley
mimi.tang@rch.org.au
sarah.ashley@mcri.edu.au
Immune mechanisms of peanut allergy remission PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Alison Archibald
Dr Belinda McClaren
alison.archibald@vcgs.org.au
belinda.mcclaren@unimelb.edu.au
Implementation considerations for a national program for expanded reproductive carrier screening PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Wake
Dr Jing Wang
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
jing.wang@mcri.edu.au
Improving lifetime outcomes for babies in special care nurseries PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Sharon Goldfeld
Associate Professor Susan Woolfenden
sharon.goldfeld@rch.org.au
susan.woolfenden@health.nsw.gov.au
Inequities in children’s mental health: evidence to inform precision policy responses PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Paul Lockhart
Dr Yujin Gao
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
yujing.gao@mcri.edu.au
Investigating the molecular basis of parkinson's disease using novel genetic models PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Eisenstat
trish.barber@mcri.edu.au
Linking determination of cell fate in the developing nervous system to paediatric brain tumours PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Jeanie Cheong
jeanie.cheong@thewomens.org.au
Long-term impact of moderate and late preterm birth: effects on neurodevelopment, brain development and respiratory health at school age PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Valerie Sung
Dr Lisa Mundy
valerie.sung@rch.org.au
lisa.mundy@mcri.edu.au
Longitudinal and secular trends in outcomes for adolescents with hearing impairment in Victoria PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcri.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Making B-lymphocytes form pluripotent stem cells PhD students, Masters by Research, Post Doctor Researchers
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yanhong Jessika Hu
Prof Melissa Wake
jessika.hu@mcri.edu.au
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
Mapping hospital health records in Victoria, Australia for tracking pregnancy medicines use PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Professor Adrienne Harvey
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
Measuring child and family centred outcomes following spinal surgery for children with neuromuscular scoliosis PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Anita d'Aprano
anita.daprano@unimelb.edu.au
Measuring developmental outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Adrienne Harvey
Professor David Amor
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Measuring pain in children with developmental disabilities PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Christine Imms
christine.imms@unimelb.edu.au
Mental health and participation outcomes for children and youth with cerebral palsy PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Alejandro Hidalgo-Gonzalez
Dr Holly Voges
alejandro.hidalgogon@mcri.edu.au
holly.vogues@mcri.edu.au
Metabolic reprogramming of the failing heart PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Margie Danchin
Dr Alexandra Ure
margie.danchin@rch.org.au
alexandra.ure@unimelb.edu.au
MIND the Vax Gap: Measuring Immunisation in NeuroDiverse populations and developing an intervention to improve uptake PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Ed Stanley
Professor Andrew Elefanty
ed.stanley@mcir.edu.au
Andrew.elefanty@mcri.edu.au
Modelling T-cell Development using pluripotent stem cells PhD students, Masters by Research, Post Doctor Researchers
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Jessica Vanslambrouk
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
jessica.vanslambrouk@mcri.edu.au
Nephrotoxicity screening using stem cell-derived proximal tubules PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Angela Morgan
angela.morgan@mcri.edu.au
Neuropsychological profile of children with childhood apraxia of speech PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Sarah Knight
A/Prof Adam Scheinberg
sarah.knight@mcri.edu.au
adam.scheinberg@mcri.edu.au
Optimising use of everyday technology for children and adolescents with acquired brain injury PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Professor Adrienne Harvey
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
Pain in children with cerebral palsy and other developmental disabilities PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Salvatore Pepe
Prof Christian Brizard
salvatore.pepe@mcri.edu.au
christian.brizard@mcri.edu.au
Placental Cord Blood Cell Therapy in Children at High Risk of Heart Failure PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Wake
A/Prof Joanne Said
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
jsaid@unimelb.edu.au
Precision prediction of maternal and child outcomes from routine fetal ultrasounds PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Kirsten Perrett
Professor David Burgner David Burgner
kirsten.perett@rch.org.au
david.burgner@rch.org.au
Predictors of infection, clinical severity and immunological legacy of SARS-CoV-2 in extant longitudinal LifeCourse population cohorts of children and their household/family contacts PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Tiong Tan
A/Prof Sue White
tiong.tan@vcgs.org.au
sue.white@vcgs.org.au
Rare Diseases Now - Great care for rare PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Aude Dorison
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
aude.dorison@mcri.edu.au
Regulating the vascularisation of the human glomerulus in vitro. PhD students
Paediatrics Dr Prue Pereira-Fantini
A/Prof David Tingay
prue.pereira@mcri.edu.au
David.Tingay@rch.org.au
Respiratory strategies to protect the preterm lung at birth PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Amanda Gwee
Prof Nigel Curtis
amanda.gwee@rch.org.au
nigel.curtis@rch.org.au
Short course antibiotic therapy for acute septic arthritis and haematogenous osteomyelitis in children PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Christine Imms
christine.imms@unimelb.edu.au
Supporting young people with complex disability to participate in important life situations PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Wake
Prof Richard Saffery
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
Taking placenta to scale: The population burden of disordered placentation and placental function PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Burgner
Assoc Prof Kirsten Perrett
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
The cardiometabolic legacy of SARS-CoV-2 in longitudinal adolescents PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor David Amor
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Towards treatment of intellectual disability caused by errors in the chromatin machinery PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Christine Imms
Prof Dinah Reddihough
christine.imms@unimelb.edu.au
Dinah.reddihough@rch.org.au
Understanding and defining supportive health/NDIS service environments PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof Martin Delatycki
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
martin.delatycki@vcgs.org.au
Understanding the molecular basis of canvas-a novel neurological disorder caused by an expanded dna repeat PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Melanie Neeland
Prof Sarath Ranganathan
melanie.neeland@mcri.edu.au
sarath.ranganathan@rch.org.au
Unravelling the Inflammatory Signatures of Paediatric Respiratory Disease PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Dave Coghill
Dr Melissa Mulraney
david.coghill@unimelb.edu.au
melissa.mulraney@mcri.edu.au
Utilizing technology to optimise ADHD care Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Associate Professor Catherine Satzke
Professor Fiona Russell
catherine.satzke@mcri.edu.au
fmruss@unimelb.edu.au
What is the microbiological effect of a single dose of azithromycin given in labour? PhD students, Masters by Research