Paediatrics Projects

Heads up! Use the arrows to sort the table data by column.

Department Nodes Supervisor(s) Email(s) Project Research Opportunity
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Shireen Lamande
Prof John Bateman
shireen.lamande@mcri.edu.au
john.bateman@mcri.edu.au
A clinical trial-in-a-dish using iPSC-derived cartilage and bone organoids PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Kiymet Bozaoglu
Prof Paul Lockhart
kiymet.bozaoglu@mcri.edu.au
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
A high throughput drug screen to identify candidate targets for the treatment of Neurofibromatosis Type 1. PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Dinah Reddihough
Prof Prue Morgan
dinah.reddihough@rch.org.au
prue.morgan@monash.edu
Adapt an evidence-based healthy lifestyle program to an Australian context PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Salvatore Pepe
Prof Christian Brizard
spepe@unimelb.edu.au
christian.brizard@rch.org.au
Adjunct Cord Blood Cell Therapy for Paediatric Heart Failure PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Rachel Peters
Dr Jennifer Koplin
rachel.peters@mcri.edu.au
jennifer.koplin@mcri.edu.au
Adverse health consequences of infant food allergy: a population-based longitudinal study. PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Sarah Knight
A/Prof Adam Scheinberg
sarah.knight@mcri.edu.au
adam.scheinberg@mcri.edu.au
Assessment and management of fatigue following paediatric acquired brain injury PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Nigel Curtis
Dr Nicole Messina
brace@mcri.edu.au
brace@mcri.edu.au
BRACE trial PhD opportunities PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Rachel Peters
A/Prof Jennifer Koplin
rachel.peters@mcri.edu.au
jennifer.koplin@mcri.edu.au
Can the allergic march from infant food allergy to asthma be prevented? PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Burgner
Dr Siroon Bekkering
david.burgner@mcri.edu.au
siroon.bekkering@mcri.edu.au
Common severe childhood infections, innate inflammatory responses and cardiometabolic risk: The VASCular changes aFter INfectious Diseases (VASCFIND) study PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Vicki Anderson
Vicki.Anderson@rch.org.au
Concussion Essentials: A clinical trial for reducing persisting symptoms after child concussion PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Little
Dr Jessica Vanslambrouk
melissa.little@mcri.edu.au
jessica.vanslambrouk@mcri.edu.au
Controlling nephron patterning and segmentation in kidney organoids PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Nicole Messina
Prof Nigel Curtis
nicole.messina@mcri.edu.au
nigel.curtis@rch.org.au
Defining the mechanisms that underpin the beneficial off-target effects of BCG PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Nicole Messina
Prof Nigel Curtis

nigel.curtis@rch.org.au
Determinants of COVID-19 risk and severity PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof Martin Delatycki
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
martin.delatycki@vcgs.org.au
Discovering novel genes and pathways to ataxia PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Nigel Curtis
Dr Nicole Messina
nigel.curtis@rch.org.au
Does neonatal BCG vaccination protect against infection and allergic disease in the first 5 years of life? PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Ed Stanley
Dr Jacqui Schiesser
ed.stanley@mcri.edu.au
jacqui.schiesser@mcri.edu.au
Expanding pancreatic progenitor cells for treatment of type 1 diabetes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Simranpreet Kaur
Prof John Christodoulou
simran.kaur@mcri.edu.au
john.christodoulou@mcri.edu.au
Expanding the molecular understanding, and advancing personalised therapeutics for KIF1A-Associated Neurological Disorders PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Elyse Passmore
A/Prof Erich Rutz
elyse.passmore@rch.org.au
erich.rutz@rch.org.au
Foot deformities in children with cerebral palsy PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Melbourne Hospital,Murdoch Children's Research Institute (MCRI) Prof David Eisenstat
Dr Maree Faux
david.eisenstat@mcri.edu.au
maree.faux@mcri.edu.au
Gene regulation in the developing retina and the childhood eye cancer retinoblastoma PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Valerie Sung
Prof David Amor
valerie.sung@rch.org.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Genetics of childhood hearing loss PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Christine Imms
A/Prof Adrienne Harvey
christine.imms@unimelb.edu.au
adrienne.harvey@mcri.edu.au
Healthy Trajectories: Promoting wellbeing and quality of life for those with child-onset disability and their families PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Jim Buttery
Dr Gerardo Luis Dimaguila
jim.buttery@mcri.edu.au
gerardoluis.dimaguil@mcri.edu.au
healthYpulse: A Learning Healthcare System for Improving Paediatric Patient Experience and Outcomes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Melbourne Hospital,Murdoch Children's Research Institute (MCRI) Prof Richard Saffery
Dr Boris Novakovic
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
boris.novakovic@mcri.edu.au
High Dimensional Immune and Epigenetic Profiling of Children with Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA) PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof Richard Leventer
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
richard.leventer@mcri.edu.au
Identifying the causes of brain malformation in children PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Professor Sharon Goldfeld
Associate Professor Susan Woolfenden
sharon.goldfeld@rch.org.au
susan.woolfenden@health.nsw.gov.au
Inequities in children’s mental health: evidence to inform precision policy responses PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Mirana Ramialison
mirana.ramialison@mcri.edu.au
Interrogating the spatial dynamics of gene regulatory networks during embryonic development and disease PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Valerie Sung
A/Prof Gabrielle Haeusler
valerie.sung@rch.org.au
gabrielle.haeusler@rch.org.au
Investigating 'silent' newborn viral infections and outcomes in the GenV cohort PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Samuel Menahem
Prof Margaret Hay
samuel.menahem@unimelb.edu.au
margaret.hay@monash.edu
Investigating a Unique Dwelling Space for New Mothers and Babies PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Sarah Stephenson
Prof Paul Lockhart
sarah.stephenson@mcri.edu.au
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
Investigating the role of FBX proteins in Neurodevelopment PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Jim Buttery
Dr Hazel Clothier
jim.buttery@mcri.edu.au
hazel.clothier@mcri.edu.au
Learning Health System for identification and prevention of vaccination errors PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof David Eisenstat
david.eisenstat@mcri.edu.au
Linking determination of cell fate in the developing nervous system to paediatric brain tumours PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Valerie Sung
Dr Lisa Mundy
valerie.sung@rch.org.au
lisa.mundy@mcri.edu.au
Longitudinal and secular trends in outcomes for adolescents with hearing impairment in Victoria PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Anita d'Aprano
anita.daprano@unimelb.edu.au
Measuring developmental outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Catherine Satzke
Dr Laura Boelsen
catherine.satzke@mcri.edu.au
laura.boelsen@mcri.edu.au
Microbial changes following pneumococcal conjugate vaccination PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Melbourne Hospital,Murdoch Children's Research Institute (MCRI) Prof Richard Saffery
Dr Boris Novakovic
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
boris.novakovic@mcri.edu.au
Molecular remodelling of endothelial cells in response to specific lymphocytes and other signals PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Elyse Passmore
Dr Gareth Ball
elyse.passmore@rch.org.au
gareth.ball@mcri.edu.au
Motor function assessment using video-based motion capture and machine-learning for children with movement disorders PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Angela Morgan
Prof David Amor
angela.morgan@mcri.edu.au
david.amor@mcri.edu.au
Neuropsychological profile of children with childhood apraxia of speech PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Sarah Knight
A/Prof Adam Scheinberg
sarah.knight@mcri.edu.au
adam.scheinberg@mcri.edu.au
Optimising use of everyday technology for children and adolescents with acquired brain injury PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Women’s Hospital Professor Denise Harrison
deniseh@unimelb.edu.au
Partnering to reduce neonatal pain Honours students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Salvatore Pepe
Prof Christian Brizard
salvatore.pepe@mcri.edu.au
christian.brizard@mcri.edu.au
Placental Cord Blood Cell Therapy in Children at High Risk of Heart Failure PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Wake
A/Prof Joanne Said
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
jsaid@unimelb.edu.au
Precision prediction of maternal and child outcomes from routine fetal ultrasounds PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Kirsten Perrett
Dr Vicki McWilliam
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
vicki.mcwilliam@mcri.edu.au
Prevention of nut allergies in high risk infants PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Kirsten Perrett
A/Prof Jennifer Koplin
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
jennifer.koplin@mcri.edu.au
RCT of Vitamin D supplementation for prevention of allergy PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Melanie Neeland
Prof Sarath Ranganathan
melanie.neeland@mcri.edu.au
sarath.ranganathan@rch.org.au
Resolving inflammation in childhood respiratory disease PhD students
Paediatrics Dr Prue Pereira-Fantini
A/Prof David Tingay
prue.pereira@mcri.edu.au
David.Tingay@rch.org.au
Respiratory strategies to protect the preterm lung at birth PhD students, Masters by Research
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Jim Buttery
Dr Hazel Clothier
jim.buttery@mcri.edu.au
hazel.clothier@mcri.edu.au
SNOTWATCH: Mapping real-time respiratory and gastrointestinal viral information to inform and improve health outcomes PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Christine Imms
christine.imms@unimelb.edu.au
Supporting young people with complex disability to participate in important life situations PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Melbourne Hospital,Murdoch Children's Research Institute (MCRI) A/Prof Ken Pang
Dr Nicholas Veldhuis
ken.pang@mcri.edu.au
nicholas.veldhuis@monash.edu
Targeting novel mediators of chronic pain to improve analgesia for Epidermolysis Bullosa PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Rachel Peters
Dr Suzanne Mavoa
rachel.peters@mcri.edu.au
Suzanne.Mavoa@epa.vic.gov.au
The impact of air pollution and other environmental factors on food allergy and other allergic diseases across the first 10 years of life: a population-based, longitudinal study. PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Sonia Grover
Prof Andrew Chanen
sonia.grover@rch.org.au
andrew.chanen@orygen.org.au
The LongSTEPPP Project PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Christine Imms
Prof Dinah Reddihough
christine.imms@unimelb.edu.au
Dinah.reddihough@rch.org.au
Understanding and defining supportive health/NDIS service environments PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Paul Lockhart
Prof Martin Delatycki
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
martin.delatycki@vcgs.org.au
Understanding beta-propeller protein-associated neurodegeneration using stem cell models PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Catherine Satzke
Dr Sam Manna
catherine.satzke@mcri.edu.au
sam.manna@mcri.edu.au
Understanding pneumococcal pathogenesis PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Kiymet Bozaoglu
Prof Paul Lockhart
kiymet.bozaoglu@mcri.edu.au
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
Understanding the neurobiology of autism in NF1 using patient derived stem cell models PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Melissa Wake
Dr Yanhong Jessika Hu
melissa.wake@mcri.edu.au
jessika.hu@mcri.edu.au
Use and impact of psychotropic medication in pregnancy PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Sarah Stephenson
Prof Paul Lockhart
sarah.stephenson@mcri.edu.au
paul.lockhart@mcri.edu.au
Using single-cell omics to determine disease mechanism and improve clinical management of children with epilepsy PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Prof Richard Saffery
A/Prof Kirsten Perrett
richard.saffery@mcri.edu.au
kirsten.perrett@mcri.edu.au
Vitamin D supplementation and food allergy risk in early life: immunological and molecular mechanisms PhD students
Paediatrics Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute A/Prof Valerie Sung
Dr Jing Wang
valerie.sung@mcri.edu.au
jing.wang@mcri.edu.au
Why are babies in SCNs/NICUs at higher risk of permanent hearing loss? PhD students