Obstetrics and Gynaecology Projects

Heads up! Use the arrows to sort the table data by column.

Department Nodes Supervisor(s) Email(s) Project Research Opportunity
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Dr Bill Kalionis
Dr Maria Kokkinos
kalionis@unimelb.edu.au
Maria.Kokkinos@thewomens.org.au
Abnormal Placental Stem Cells And Their Role In Human Pregnancy Pathologies PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students, Master of Biomedical Science
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr PhD Marta Thio
Dr PhD Omar Kamlin
marta.thio@thewomens.org.au
omar.kamlin@thewomens.org.au
Accuracy of documentation during neonatal resuscitation: comparison of different live-documentation tools. Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Professor Eva Dimitriadis
A/Professor Kim-Anh Le Cao
eva.dimitriadis@unimelb.edu.au
kimanh.lecao@unimelb.edu.au
Application of computational biology approaches to identify and develop biomarkers to predict pregnancy disorders and guide clinical practice. PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Kate Hodgson
A/Prof Brett Manley
kate.hodgson@thewomens.org.au
brett.manley@thewomens.org.au
Cerebral oxygenation during neonatal intubation: an observational study Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Professor Eva Dimitriadis
eva.dimitriadis@unimelb.edu.au
Defining the role of embryo implantation failure in infertility and IVF success. PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students, Master of Biomedical Science, Post Doctor Researchers
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Mercy Health Associate Professor Tu'uhevaha Kaitu'u-Lino
Associate Professor Natalie Hannan
t.klino@unimelb.edu.au
nhannan@unimelb.edu.au
Elucidating the role of SPINT1 in placental insufficiency PhD students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Michelle Peate
Dr Jennifer Marino
mpeate@unimelb.edu.au
jennifer.marino@unimelb.edu.au
EndoNeeds: Investigating the unmet physical, psychological and social needs of Australian women with endometriosis. PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students, Master of Biomedical Science
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Rocco Cuzilla
rocco.cuzilla@thewomens.org.au
Exploring the utility of early postnatal cranial ultrasonography and brain magnetic resonance imaging to predict long-term neurodevelopment in infants born very preterm Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Michelle Peate
mpeate@unimelb.edu.au
Fertility decision tools for young women with breast cancer PhD students, Masters by Research
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Jennifer Marino
Dr Michelle Peate
jennifer.marino@unimelb.edu.au
michelle.peate@unimelb.edu.au
Fertility preservation in adolescent and young adult cancer survivors Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yasmin Jayasinghe
yasmin.jayasinghe@unimelb.edu.au
Fertility preservation in children with cancer PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Professor Eva Dimitriadis
eva.dimitriadis@unimelb.edu.au
Inflammatory mediators in the development of preeclampsia and pre-term birth. PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students, Master of Biomedical Science, Post Doctor Researchers
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Gerald Murray
Professor Suzanne Garland
gerald.murray@mcri.edu.au
suzanne.garland@thewomens.org.au
Investigating the basis of antibiotic resistance in Mycoplasma genitalium PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Prof Martha Hickey
Dr Sarah Lensen
hickeym@unimelb.edu.au
sarah.lensen@unimelb.edu.au
Most Bothersome Symptom: a new research outcome in women with endometriosis PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students, Master of Biomedical Science
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yasmin Jayasinghe
yasmin.jayasinghe@unimelb.edu.au
Prediction of ovarian malignancy in children with ovarian cysts Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Melbourne Hospital Professor Eva Dimitriadis
eva.dimitriadis@unimelb.edu.au
Relationship between the microbiome and female infertility. PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students, Master of Biomedical Science, Post Doctor Researchers
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Melbourne Hospital Associate Professor Tu'uhevaha Kaitu'u-Lino
Associate Professor Natalie Hannan
t.klino@unimelb.edu.au
nhannan@unimelb.edu.au
Reverse translation to better understand fetal growth restriction PhD students, Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Michelle Peate
Dr Jennifer Marino
mpeate@unimelb.edu.au
jennifer.marino@unimelb.edu.au
Sexual dysfunction in women who have experienced cancer PhD students, Masters by Research
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Melbourne Hospital Associate Professor Tu'uhevaha Kaitu'u-Lino
Associate Professor Natalie Hannan
t.klino@unimelb.edu.au
nhannan@unimelb.edu.au
Studying novel proteins in preeclampsia PhD students, Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Children’s Hospital/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Dr Yasmin Jayasinghe
yasmin.jayasinghe@unimelb.edu.au
Surgical experience in paediatric gynaecology Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Melbourne Hospital Professor Eva Dimitriadis
Dr Wei Zhou
eva.dimitriadis@unimelb.edu.au
wei.zhou1@unimelb.edu.au
Testing therapeutics for infertility in organoid models PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students, Master of Biomedical Science, Post Doctor Researchers
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Bill Kalionis
Assoc Prof Harry Georgiou
kalionis@unimelb.edu.au
harrymg@unimelb.edu.au
The prognosisdiagnosis of common pregnancy complications utilising genetic material found in extracellular vesicles derived from maternal blood and urine. PhD students, Masters by Research, Honours students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Dorothy Machalek
A/Prof Catriona Bradshaw
dorothy.machalek@thewomens.org.au
Understanding the burden and consequences of Mycoplasma genitalium infection PhD students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Gerald Murray
Dr Sam Phillips
gerald.murray@unimelb.edu.au
sam.phillips@mcri.edu.au
Understanding the cause of human papillomavirus (HPV)-negative cervical cancers in Australian women PhD students
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Royal Women’s Hospital Dr Michelle Peate
Prof Martha Hickey
mpeate@unimelb.edu.au
hickeym@unimelb.edu.au
WomenCAN: Promoting and advancing women’s health and wellbeing after cancer PhD students, Masters by Research, Master of Biomedical Science