Leading minds gather for the Melbourne Brain Symposium

The Melbourne Brain Symposium has a proud history of showcasing excellence in neuroscience from around the world. Now in its ninth year, the University of Melbourne and Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health hosted the 2019 symposium last week bringing together leading experts to share research, foster new collaborations and celebrate recent achievements in neuroscience.

A highlight of the event was the presentation of Mendelsohn awards by Fred Mendelsohn himself, Emeritus Professor of Neuroscience at the University of Melbourne and former Director of the Howard Florey Institute. The awards recognise students for outstanding research.

Caio Seguin (University of Melbourne) received first-prize award and shared his research project in neural communication and the clinical relevance of network communication models in understanding how neural signals are affected during disease. Elie Gottlieb (The Florey) and Leonie Duehlmeyer (University of Melbourne) were also recognised for their research excellence.

Emeritus Professor Fred Mendelsohn and Caio Seguin

Speakers who presented their work at the Melbourne Brain Symposium include:

  • Professor Liqun Luo, Stanford University; Wiring Specificity of Neural Circuits
  • Associate Professor Muireann Irish, University of Sydney; Memory, dementia and the wandering mind
  • Caio Seguin, University of Melbourne; Brain network communication models
  • Professor Jennifer Wilkinson-Berka, University of Melbourne; Harnessing the adaptive immune system to prevent retinal inflammation and vision-threatening vasculopathy
  • Professor Bernard Balleine, University of NSW; The role of the prefronto-striatal convergence in decision making
  • Professor Trevor Kilpatrick, University of Melbourne and The Florey; MS as a Syndrome – Implications for Future Research and Management