Congratulations to New Academy Fellows

Several academics from the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences have recently been appointed as fellows of national academies in recognition of their professional achievements and outstanding leadership.

Professor Fabienne MackayProfessor Fabienne Mackay, recently appointed as a fellow to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

Professor Andrew Mackinnon from the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health and Professor John Trinder from the Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences were elected as fellows to the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia.

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences recently announced the induction of the following staff members as fellows, in addition to those recognised in the initial cohort:  

  • Professor Jane Gunn, Department of General Practice
  • Professor Trevor Kilpatrick, Melbourne Neuroscience Institute
  • Professor Fabienne Mackay, School of Biomedical Sciences
  • Professor Terry O’Brien, James Stewart Professor of Medicine

A number of esteemed colleagues affiliated with the university were also elected fellows, including Professor Ian Wicks, Professor Ben Kile, Professor Andreas Strasser and Professor Jane Visvader of the Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Professor David Bowtell, Professor Stephen Fox and Professor Miles Prince of Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Professor Tom Kay of St Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research, and Professor Christine McDonald of Austin Health.

They join the many distinguished University of Melbourne colleagues elected fellows of the Australian Academy of the Humanities, the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of the Technological Sciences and Engineering.

These appointments are a testament to the esteem in which university staff members are held in the academic community in Australia and abroad and the quality of research being conducted on campus.