2023 MDHS Graduate Research Conference 22 – 23 November

A/Prof Ada Cheung
Head of the Trans Health Research Group, The University of Melbourne Dame Kate Campbell Fellowship, Department of Medicine (Austin Health), The University of Melbourne Fellow of the Institute of Community Directors Australia

Plenary speaker: Associate Professor Ada Cheung on 'Trans Health' MBBS(HONS), FRACP, PhD, Dip. Bus. (Gov) 

A/Prof Ada Cheung is a clinician scientist; endocrinologist at Austin Health and a NHMRC/Dame Kate Campbell Research Fellow and Board Member of the Endocrine Society of Australia. Since completing her PhD in 2017 and listening to numerous barriers to health faced by her patients, she established the Trans Health Research Group at The University of Melbourne. Committed to evidence-based medicine and policy, her diverse team undertakes clinical trials in gender-affirming hormone therapy to provide robust evidence to improve the health and wellbeing of the trans community. Her research has had significant impact over the last 5 years, leading to the development of new gender clinics in Victoria, a statewide training program for health professionals and national guidelines on hormone therapy Her commitment to co-creation with community to improve trans health was recognised recently with the GLOBE LGBT Ally of the Year. With the recent politicisation of trans people in sport, A/Prof Cheung has shared the limitations of existing research, engaging extensively in the media and providing expert advice and consultation to international sporting federations, the Australian Institute of Sport and the IOC which was recognised with a MDHS Public Engagement Award in 2022.

Stay tuned for more info on our exciting panel discussions!

'Life Beyond Graduate Research’

Prof. Cath Chamberlain – Director of Onemda: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Wellbeing (UoM)
Dr Cathy Drinkwater – Director of Project Management (Biocurate)
Prof. Natalie Hannan – Assoc. Dean of Diversity and Inclusion (UoM)
Dr Richard Huysmans – Research Strategist (DRH)
Chair: Dr Catriona Nguyen-Robertson

'Artificial Intelligence in Research’

Prof. Wendy Chapman – Assoc. Dean of Digital Health and Informatics (UoM); Director of the Centre for Digital Transformation of Health
Prof. Graeme Jackson – Chief Investigator of the Australian Epilepsy Project (Florey); Professorial Fellow (UoM)
Prof. Kathleen Gray – Professor in Health Informatics (UoM)
Prof. Karin Verspoor – Executive Dean School of Computing Technologies (RMIT); Fellow of the Australiasian Institute of Digital Health
Chair: A/Prof. Charles Sevigny