National Centre for Antimicrobial Stewardship

Meet the 2019 recipient of Excellence in Engagement award

Dr Arjun Rajkhowa
National Centre for Antimicrobial Stewardship

Professors Karin Thursky and Kirsty Buising, project Officer Dr Arjun Rajkhowa and the rest of the NHMRC-CRE National Centre for Antimicrobial Stewardship (NCAS) team received the award for Excellence in Engagement.

The award recognised work undertaken with health departments, services (particularly hospitals and aged care homes) and other stakeholders to monitor and improve antimicrobial prescribing in healthcare settings in Australia, as well as five years of education and training for doctors, veterinarians, pharmacists, researchers and others.

‘The award has helped us invest in our consumer-facing resources,’ said Dr Rajkowa.

Dr Rajkowa’s encourages all teams that are interested in this award to apply.

‘The application presents an opportunity for team members to hone their grant writing skills,’ he said.

Reflecting on your team's activities and achievements is valuable and an important part of our role, Dr Arjun Rajkhowa