People

HEAD OF CENTRE

Professor Sean Grimmond is the University of Melbourne Centre for Cancer Research founding Director and the Bertalli Chair in Cancer Medicine.

A pioneer in cancer genomics and bioinformatics, Sean previously led Australia’s International Cancer Genome Consortium efforts, and mapped out the root-causes and druggable strategies for pancreatic, neuroendocrine, ovarian, oesophageal cancer, refractory chronic myeloid leukaemia and melanoma suffers.

More recently he co-established a national plan for implementing whole genome sequencing for NHS Scotland as part of the Scottish Genomes Partnership.

Sean holds a PhD in Genetics from the University of Queensland and is a Scientific Fellow in The Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia.

Sean’s previous appointments include Director of the Queensland Centre for Medical Genomics and Professor of Genomics at the Institute for Molecular Bioscience, University of Queensland.

Key academic staff

For information on projects under 'Research' tab on main menu (to come).

Research leaderGroupContact
Professor Alex Boussioutas
Department of Medicine and Radiology 
University of Melbourne 
Gastrointestinal Researchalexb@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8345 6816 
Dr Daniel Buchanan
Department of Pathology
School of Biomedical Sciences
University of Melbourne 
Colorectal Oncogenomicsdaniel.buchanan@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8559 7004 
Professor Jon Emery
Department of General Practice 

Cancer in Primary Care

jon.emery@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8559 7044 
Associate Professor Oliver Hofmann

Genomics Platform Group

oliver.hofmann@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Fred Hollande
Department of Pathology
School of Biomedical Sciences 
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences
University of Melbourne

Molecular Mechanisms of Tumour Progression 

frederic.hollande@unimelb.edu.au
+61  
Professor Mark Jenkins
Centre for Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Melbourne School of Population and Global Health
University of Melbourne

Epidemiology and Biostatistics

m.jenkins@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 0902
Professor Meinir Krishnasamy
Chair in Cancer Nursing, University of Melbourne
Nursing Research and Education Lead for the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre
Cancer Nursingmeik@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Jennifer Philip
Chair of Palliative Medicine, University of Melbourne & St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
VCCC Palliative Medicine Research Groupjphilip@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Richard TothillRare Disease Oncogenomics 
Professor Sean GrimmondPrecision Oncologyumccr-admin@unimelb.edu.au